• Geniale Dilletanten Exhibition

Geniale Dilletanten Exhibition

  • 02 Nov 2018
  • 18 Nov 2018
  • Schmidt Artist Lofts Tunnel Gallery


Geniale Dilletanten (Brilliant Dilletantes) is the name of a brief time of artistic renewal in West and East Germany. With a DYI spirit and disregard for artistic norms, musicians shot super-8 films, painters played in bands or founded clubs that were incubators for the new scene that was erupting all over Germany – not just in Berlin, but also in Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Munich, Bonn, Rosenheim and Erlangen. See works of film, art, design, fashion, and hear music samples from seven experimental bands, including Einstürzende Neubauten, Die Tödliche Doris, Der Plan, Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle, Palais Schaumburg, Ornament und Verbrechen,  and Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft (D.A.F.)  Free and open to the public.

OPENING PARTY
Friday, November 2 from 6 to 9 p.m. 
Punk out with us at the Geniale Dilletanten exhibition opening. We’ll go underground at Schmidt Artist lofts with special film screenings, curated sounds by DJ ESP, and surprise performers. Come as you are or take the opportunity to wear your best 80s threads or DIY Dilletanten wearable art.

Follow us on Facebook (GAIMN) or Instagram (GAIHaus) to get the latest on this wicked cool show.

Exhibition hours
Sat Nov 3 12 pm – 4 pm
Sun Nov 4 12 pm – 4 pm
Mon Nov 5 3 pm – 6 pm
Wed Nov 7 3 pm – 6 pm
Fri Nov 9 12 pm – 6 pm
Sat Nov 10 12 pm – 4 pm
Sun Nov 11 12 pm – 4 pm
Mon Nov 12 3 pm – 6 pm
Wed Nov 14 3 pm – 6 pm
Fri Nov 16 3 pm – 6 pm
Sat Nov 17 12 pm – 4 pm
Sun Nov 18 12 pm – 4 pm

The Geniale Dilletanten Exhibition is part of the Deutschlandjahr USA 2018/19–Year of German-American friendship. This initiative is funded by the German Federal Foreign Office, implemented by the Goethe-Institute, and supported by The Federation of German Industries (BDI).

   301 Summit Avenue • Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone: 651-222-7027 • Fax: 651-222-6295 • Contact Us
© 2014 Germanic-American Institute. All Rights Reserved.